Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Imperial Yeomanry 8 years 10 months ago #41265

• BerkshireT
  • BerkshireT's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 9
Hello all,
This is my first post so by way of introduction: I am a retired soldier who has a fascination for military history. As a boy I read “Look & Learn” and Eagle comics with equal interest and the bible stories at the back of Eagle comic were as fascinating as the accounts of great battles as it is history which has changed our world. On holiday I avoid the pool and look for museums and search for ruins.
I research history relating to my collection of Yeomanry medals and want to learn about what happened at each “clasp”, battle and campaign.
I’m looking forward to your feedback

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Imperial Yeomanry 8 years 10 months ago #41266

• BerkshireT
Okay well my introduction was painless :)
My main interest is Berkshire Imperial Yeomanry (BY) who served in 39th Coy 10th Battalion and 58th Coy 15th Battalion. I am familiar with the museum in Windsor but want to develop my brief knowledge of their involvement in the Boer War.
Most of the BY medal clasps are typically similar (Cape Colony, Orange Free State, Transvaal Wittenberg, 1901, 1902). I want to know what happened at each and links to anything specific to BY soldiers….
There appears to be a close link between the BY and 7th Hussars as post 1904 the CO and several officers from 7th had a positive impact on Berkshire Yeomanry.
What was Berkshire Yeomanry badge on their Slosh hat typically? I ask as I have never seen a close up photo showing a rosette on BY so have several theories.
1. The Leicester Yeomanry Association website shows the Battalion number inside a rosette. So "X" above "IY" on rosett?

2. I am advised the Prince of Wales '3 feathers' above the IY in brass is a standard for Yeomarny, but if so then option 1 above is not so (either or ?)