Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Tpr F.A. Skuse K.L.H. rare clasp combination 7 years 7 months ago #47767

• crypt
  • crypt's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 179
Afternoon all

Another QSA with Defence of Kimberley and Paardeberg, but he also received the Relief of Mafeking clasp.

Just 26 such combinations according to the roll by Dave Willis, the majority to KLH, with one to Army Vet. Dept, two to Cape Police, two to Kimberley Town Guard and one to Kimberley Volunteer Regt.

Francis Augustus Skuse born England 24 January 1864, a rigger by trade from Durban, first appears on the nominal roll for the Protectorate Regiment, but was discharged due to misconduct on 9th September 1899, barely 3 weeks after he attested.
We next find him in Kimberely where he served as 1296 Trooper before being discharged after 13 months service 8th December 1900

Interesting the medal roll is annoted as "name expunged from roll" rather ominous I thought, never seen that before

We next find him as 404 Trooper, 2nd ILH where he earned his Transvaal clasp. Again the roll annoted as "expunge name" His service here totaled 1 year and 51 days.

Finally he enlisted in Steinaeckers Horse at Durban on 4th March 1902 before being discharged at PMB on 25th August 1902. He would earn a Transvaal clasp for this service.

All rolls are cross referenced to each other, he is missing a KSA named to Steinaeckers Horse.

If anyone has any medals to Skuse please let me know as I have his two brothers medals as well as another, his father I presume
Tpr James Charles Skuse - ILH -, QSA, CC, TVL, Tugela Heights, Relief of Ladysmith, also Agent F.I.D.
Pte C.E. Skuse - Railway Pioneer Regt -, KSA, SA1901, SA1902 (missing QSA)
C.Skuse Ord, - HMS Superb -, Egypt Medal, Alexandria 11th July (could be father?)

Regards
Jon
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Brett Hendey

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.