• Page:

TOPIC:

Boer War? 8 years 6 months ago #43444

• Neil
  • Neil's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
I have found this picture of my Great Grandfather. He. Was born in 1854 and on the back of the picture it says 'Boer war'
That is all the information I have, not a lot to go on but I was wondering if anyone could shed any light on it.
Thanks for looking.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Boer War? 8 years 6 months ago #43445

• pjac49
  • Thank you received: 32
Neil

I am not a uniform expert but If you hadn't said he was born in 1854 I would be thinking the photo dates from around then. My other reaction is that the uniform doesn't look very British and I don't think I've seen British soldiers with a bedroll like this one. However, I may be totally wrong! The headgear could be a Fusiliers' busby. If you have a name It would help in trying to find out his unit and when he served.

Patrick

Boer War? 8 years 6 months ago #43446

• Neil
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
His name was Walter George Warrington (sometimes called George Walter Warrington)

Boer War? 8 years 6 months ago #43468

• pjac49
  • Thank you received: 32
Hi Neil,

I have had a look at the medal rolls for the Anglo-Boer war .

There are no exact matches for Walter George Warrington or George Walter Warrington, either with these first names or using initials. There were two G Warringtons in the Leicestershire Regiment and one in the Duke of Edinburgh's Volunteer Rifles. There was a W Warrington in the Composite Cyclist Corps, an FW Warrington in the Suffolk Regiment, a WJ Warrington in the Grenadier Guards and a GAR Warrington in The Intelligence Dept.