• Page:

TOPIC:

Project on the Second Boer War 6 years 5 months ago #56376

• Ben Robertson123
  • Ben Robertson123's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi, I am currently a student at Budmouth College, a school in the United Kingdom, and I am in the process of completing a project (which includes a 5,000 word essay) on the Second Boer War. More specifically, I am focusing on “How did the Second Boer War change the structure and tactics of infantry and cavalry regiments in the British Army?” There are a few subtopics that I am focusing on and these include, the structure and tactics of British infantry and cavalry regiments at the outbreak of the war, Black Week and the lessons learnt from this, mounted infantry, counter guerrilla operations and the structure and tactics of British infantry and cavalry regiments at the end of the war.
Any knowledge that you guys have on these areas would be great to know as this would help me out greatly with my project.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Project on the Second Boer War 6 years 5 months ago #56379

• djb
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 4508
Ben,

That sounds like an excellent idea for a project and you have already identified the key areas for change that the Boer War identified. It has been said that, without the Boer War, the imperial forces would have been even less well prepared for the Great War. Others suggest that the Boer War helped the British to be amongst the most prepared of the European Powers, other than Russia, as the only power to have fought in a recent and modern war.