Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Barber of the D.L.I. Died in Service in WWI 5 years 1 month ago #63328

• Rory
  • Rory's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2162
This medal has an interesting history - a while ago I posted the medal to Louis Barber of the Colonial Scouts on a website and, within a short space of time, Jon Tombs made known to me the fact that he had the medal to Barber's brother Robert. He kindly offered it to me at a very reasonable price and here, after the elapse of a few months is Robert Barber and his story.

Robert Frederick Barber

Private, Durban Light Infantry – Anglo Boer War
Private, South African Medical Corps – WWI (Died in Service)

- Queens South Africa Medal with clasps Transvaal and Natal to 848 Pte. R.F. Barber, Durban L.I.

Robert Barber was born in Durban on 13 April 1874 the son of Frederick George Franklin Barber, a Carpenter and Builder by trade, and his wife Elizabeth, born Logan. As was typical of the times the family they set about making was a large one – when Robert came along he was third in line after siblings Charlotte Alice, Ernest James. After him came Louis Edgar, Lizzie Emeline, Lillian Frances and Mary Catherine.

At the time Robert was born the Barber family were living in St. George’s Street, Durban before moving to Bellair – then a village among the farmlands on the outskirts of Durban. By 1894 they had moved closer to town and were resident in Stamford Hill. Robert followed in his father’s footsteps and pursued the trade of Bricklayer.