Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Fontier Mounted Rifles 3 years 7 months ago #71439

• jan808
  • jan808's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 13
Dear All
Still very much as a beginner, I have been looking at the medal rolls for the Frontier Mounted Rifles (WO100/247) and wondered if some more expert members could help explain something. In the right hand column for "Remarks", a different unit is listed for each man - e.g. Riverstown Rifle Vol, Driscolls Scouts, local Town Guard etc. So what was the relationship between the Frontier Mounted Rifles and these other units? Did it precede the others and then men were dispersed into other units when (if) it was disbanded? Any insights very welcome!
Many thanks,
Johnathan

ps. I have attached an example from the roll, I hope that this doesn't fall foul of copyright rules
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Fontier Mounted Rifles 3 years 7 months ago #71440

• djb
  • Away
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 4515
Hello Jonathan,

The right hand column was used to record a variety of information including the units served in either before or after the unit's roll. Many South African troops enlisted in a unit for a number of months (3, 6 or 12 typically) and then would often swap to another unit. This page shows several men who served in the Queenstown Rifle Volunteers and that their medal was issued from the QRV roll. Adding these comments must have helped those naming medals to prevent too many duplicate medals being issued.

The FMR does not have a nominal roll but if you look at other South African units' nominal roll, the prior and subsequent service is often shows (when I photographed both pages). here is an example, from the ILH: www.angloboerwar.com/unit-information/so...-light-horse?start=1
Dr David Biggins
The following user(s) said Thank You: jan808

Fontier Mounted Rifles 3 years 7 months ago #71448

• Rob D