TOPIC:

Lilywhites Hussars research from USA 12 years 6 months ago #1135

• Hambrook
  • Hambrook's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Everyone,
I now live in the USA and I am researching my grandfather, Frederick Hambrook May who was in the British calavry (either 11th or 13th Hussars) during the abw and who married someone from the Buthelie camp and never went back to England. I'm researching how they met and also, he referred to himself as a Lilywhite and I believed them to be the 13th Hussars but I can only find an F. May under the 11th Hussars. Could there be a mistake? Anyone know?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Lilywhites Hussars research from USA 5 years 1 month ago #62349

• CynBro
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
Hi. I have been researching my family for a few years now and Frederick Hambrook May is my great grandfather. He married Christina Josephine Greyling, a widow, born WEBB on the 24th March 1903 in Wepener, OFS. They had 9 children that I'm aware of. Unfortunately this is all I know of him and would love to know more if you would be willing to share. Warm Regards

Lilywhites Hussars research from USA 5 years 1 month ago #62350

• QSAMIKE
  • Thank you received: 1873
Here are the May's from the Cavalry list that I have...…

May,A.,3197,Private,12th Lancers, Paardeberg, Dreifontein, Belfast, Relief of Kimberley.
May,A.,4682,Sergeant,17th Lancers,Johannesburg,Cape Colony,OFS,1901. Severe Wound, nr Tarkastad, 17/09/01
May,A.H.,4306,Private,10th Hussars ,Johannesburg, Diamond Hill,Wittebergen,Cape Colony. Wounded, Irene, 20/04/00. Prisoner, Moorresburg,
11/11/01. Rejoined
May,C.,3706,Private,17th Lancers, Johannesburg, Diamond Hill, Belfast, Cape Colony, OFS. Severe Wound, nr Cradock, 30/01/02. Number '3796' on
Casualty Roll
May,C.J.,4307,Private,10th Hussars, Johannesburg, Diamond Hill, Wittebergen, Cape Colony.