• Page:

TOPIC:

Thomas Kerr-Bell 5 years 9 months ago #59525

• San
  • San's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
I am new to this most interesting site. Thank you.
Seeking information about my wife’s grandfather, a civil surgeon from Scotland who came out to the Boer War. Educated at Glasgow University we have no photograph at all of him. He died in Queenstown, Easrern Cape in 1933. He was the mayor of Lady Frere in the Eastern Cape.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Thomas Kerr-Bell 5 years 9 months ago #59526

• Rory
  • Thank you received: 2141
I'm sure you got this from Google...?

Death
BELL.- Died at Roberston Nursing Home, on the 2nd November, 1933, Thomas Kerr BELL, of Lady Frere. Age 70 years.

Obituary
Dr. Kerr BELL.
In a private nursing home in Queenstown, Dr. Kerr BELL, the present Mayor of Lady Frere, passed away about 7 o’clock yesterday evening, at the age of 70 years. Dr. Kerr BELL has been in Queenstown District for a number of years, and during the period of the Great War was practicing in the Whittlesea area. Later he became District Surgeon of Lady Frere, where he has taken a keen interest in public live. The deceased has long been a sufferer from diabetes, but it was only about the middle of last month that he felt it necessary to go to the nursing home for special rest and treatment. Despite the best attention, however, he passed away as stated last night.
The sympathy of all his friend will go out to his relatives in their sad bereavement.

But, in addition, he seems to have been a colourful character if the files in the SA Archives are anything to go by. There were quite a few opposed actions along with a divorce from his wife Jane.

To keep things military here is the medal roll off which his QSA was issued - he is second from the bottom

Regards

Rory
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: San

Thomas Kerr-Bell 5 years 9 months ago #59533

• San