• Page:

TOPIC:

Colenso 15 December 1899 5 years 2 months ago #62457

• ol43sg
  • ol43sg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
My grand mother's older brother was a Lance Corporal with the Royal Dublin Fusileers, part of the British Army which fought and lost at Colenso, Natal. He was Alphonsus (Alf) William Hayes, born 1876 in Manchester, Lancashire England. He enlisted in the Corps of Royal Dublin Fusileers at Sheffield on 29 January 1894; age 18 years one month, a painter by trade and he signed on for 12 years service (to 1906). Part of the 'Attestion' is missing and no service number is shown. However, I believe the Service Number to be 5023; he was a member of the 2nd Battalion R.D.F. which was based in Natal Colony from 1897 after moving from India.
I do not have details of his injuries or of his discharge from the British Army but family sources suggest that he lost either a foot or an entire lower leg during the the attempt to cross the Tugela River.
Alf married in 1904 and died in New York in 1946 leaving no family of his own.
I write to enquire whether the Forum or any member has further details of 'Alf'' -and/or of the 2nd Battalion of the Royal Dublin Fusileers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colenso 15 December 1899 5 years 2 months ago #62459

• QSAMIKE
  • Thank you received: 1879
Here is his FMP entry...….
Mike

First name(s) A
Last name Hayes
Service number 5023
Rank Lance-Corporal
Regiment 2 Battalion Royal Dublin Fusiliers
Literary references Second Royal Dublin Fusiliers in the South African War 246
Biography
-
Notes
[Second Royal Dublin Fusiliers in the South African War] QSA Clasps: Ta..
Event detail Wounded Severely on 15/12/1899 at Colenso
Event unit 2 Battalion Royal Dublin Fusiliers
Event source NFF
Gazetteer