• Page:

TOPIC:

Introduction 9 years 5 months ago #23537

• Charles1234
  • Charles1234's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello, my name is Glenda and I joined this site today - I am new at this so I hope I am posting my introduction and message in the correct section.

I am researching the military career of my paternal grandfather who was a member of the Cape Mounted Rifles for many years and who saw service with them during the Anglo Boer War.

His name was PETER JOHN LINDEBAUM. I have found one mention of him on your site, although under a different spelling LINDERBAUM which he seems to have used earlier on in his life. Your site mentions him as 1849, Private QSA4 - provisional list of Wepener recipients. Photographs I have of him in uniform with his medals attached, (the actual medals are in my possession) show CAPE COLONY, WEPENER, TRANSVAAL, WITTEBERGEN under Queen Victoria and SOUTH AFRICA 1901 and SOUTH AFRICA 1902 under King Edward XII.

My grandfather lived most of his life in the Eastern Cape, but retired to the Transvaal where he died in 1942 when he was about 80 years old.

Is there any more information you could give me about his military career during the Anglo Boer War? Maybe you would also be able to suggest where I might find additional information about his service in the Cape Mounted Rifles?

Thank you, I would be so grateful for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Introduction 9 years 5 months ago #23540

• Brett Hendey
  • Thank you received: 740
Glenda

Welcome to this forum. As you probably know there are records of P J Lindebaum, his wife and other members of the Lindebaum family in the Cape and Transvaal Repositories of the SA National Archives. If you do not have the file details, please send me a 'private message' with your e-mail address and I will send them to you.

Regards
Brett

Introduction 9 years 5 months ago #23552

• capepolice