• Page:

TOPIC:

Should it be one or four clasps? 5 years 10 months ago #59098

• almcd
  • almcd's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
This is my first time in posting. Usually I do like to return my genealogy knowledge on forums rather than just taking, but I admit I am limited when it comes to that of the Boer War.
I kindly ask if someone can solve a headache I have with regards to a QSA medal my great grandfather is wearing in a photo when he was a Constable in the Met Police, taken in 1909.
His name is William Robert Powell. DOB 12th Sept 1877. Private No. 4544 of the 19th Hussars.
On his Recruitment Form B.265, it shows within the Military History Sheet that he was awarded QSA with one clasp being DoL. WO100/119 page 39 confirms this with no mention of his name in the supplementary roll.
However the only photo I have of him shows him wearing his QSA with four clasps?
Am I missing something here as I assume his military record would have been inspected before he was recruited by the Met Police?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Should it be one or four clasps? 5 years 10 months ago #59100

• SWB
  • Thank you received: 451
Smashing photograph, thanks for sharing.

The medal roll and service papers (on FmP) confirm the single clasp. He left South Africa in June 1900.

Either he borrowed a medal for the picture, "improved" his own or was issued with a four clasp medal by mistake. All of these are possible.

Do you have the medal at all?
Researcher & Collector
The Register of the Anglo-Boer Wars 1899-1902
theangloboerwars.blogspot.co.uk/
www.facebook.com/boerwarregister

Should it be one or four clasps? 5 years 10 months ago #59106

• almcd
  • almcd's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Thank you for your reply, any of these reasons make complete sense.
My great grandfather immigrated to Sydney Australia in 1912.