Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Ernest Tipler of the South Wales Borderers 6 months 3 weeks ago #94149

• Tippy
  • Tippy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
My grandfather,, Ernest Tipler, fought in the Boer War...would love help in learning more about him. Thanks,
Hi. My grandfather fought in the Boer War with the Borderers. I have little info on him. Can you help? His name was Ernest Tipler

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ernest Tipler of the South Wales Borderers 6 months 3 weeks ago #94150

• Dave F
  • Thank you received: 1227
Hello Tippy
Welcome to the forum.

I believe your Grandfather was born in Peterborough Northamptonshire ( Now Cambridgeshire) in 1881.
He served with the 2nd Battalion South Wales Borderers during the Anglo Boer war
His regimental number was 6131. Around 5ft 5 inches tall, dark hair and complexion. A labourer by trade. Whilst in Dublin in 1900 he deserted for a while aged 19. However, he reunited with his regiment again and went on to serve in South Africa. He was awarded the Queen's South Africa medal with clasps for Transvaal, Cape Colony, Orange Free State and his 1901 1902 date clasps. After the Boer war he was transferred to the 1st battalion SWB and served in India.

He married Jane Elizabeth, and if I have the right chap? He emigrated to Canada. Where he served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force during WW1.

Best wishes

Dave....
You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
Best regards,
Dave
The following user(s) said Thank You: djb

Ernest Tipler of the South Wales Borderers 6 months 3 weeks ago #94151

• Tippy
  • Tippy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Thank you! Any further info or info on his uniform would be appreciated....Also, can I see his medals anywhere? COuld the attached be a photo of him? Could this be enroute to Egypt?